Wonder Girls Getting Heat for Opening for the Jonas Brothers?

Say it ain’t so! You mean to say Korea’s little sister’s aren’t as lovingly embraced everywhere else, by all sorts of people? Well, apparently not. Check this out.

Allow me to digress. As we all pretty much know by now, the Wonder Girls will be opening up on specific locations for the Jonas Brothers for their American Summer Tour for 2009. If you’d like to know which locations, here’s the list for ya:

Sat, 06/27/09 @ 07:00 p.m. Rose Garden Portland, OR

Sun, 06/28/09 @ 07:00 p.m. Tacoma Dome Tacoma, WA

Mon, 06/29/09 @ 07:00 p.m. General Motors Place Vancouver, BC

Tue, 06/30/09 @ 07:00 p.m. General Motors Place Vancouver, BC

Fri, 07/10/09 @ 07:30 p.m. Allstate Arena Rosemont, IL

Sat, 07/11/09 @ 07:30 p.m. Allstate Arena Rosemont, IL

Sun, 07/19/09 @ 08:00 p.m. Nassau Coliseum Uniondale, NY

Mon, 07/20/09 @ 07:30 p.m. Nassau Coliseum Uniondale, NY

Tue, 07/21/09 @ 07:30 p.m. Nassau Coliseum Uniondale, NY

Fri, 08/07/09 @ 07:30 p.m. STAPLES Center Los Angeles, CA

Sat, 08/08/09 @ 07:30 p.m. STAPLES Center Los Angeles, CA

Sun, 08/09/09 @ 07:30 p.m. STAPLES Center Los Angeles, CA

Sat, 08/22/09 @ 07:00 p.m. Philips Arena Atlanta, GA

cr. Allkpop

Crazy stuff, huh? Did anyone else see this coming? Now, allow me to be frank, but this is quite huge. The Jonas Brothers are America’s equivalent of Asia’s TVXQ, except prepubescent. Yes, I went there. And just like TVXQ, the Jonas Brothers do have this ridiculous fanbase of tweens, preteens, teens, and their parents. Don’t make me show you this.

Yeah, I know you didn’t need to see that. But hey, we all need something to laugh at. Or in this case, someone. Ok ok, enough hating. I don’t feel like degrading myself today.

So ya, what’s with all the random hate all of a sudden? Are fangirls just butthurt to know that their precious trio is going to*perhaps*  be on the same stage with another female species other than themselves or might even be on the same tour bus? Yeah, it’d be one crowded tour bus, but hey, it’s always a possibility. I just love flirting with the idea. Oh man, now I’m just being a jerk. Forgive me.

But yes, back tracking to the Jonas Brothers. You can love ’em. Or you can love to hate ’em. But whether we’re happy for the girls or not, you have got to admit, this is probably the smartest move JYP ever thought of in a while. Like I said, the Jonas Brothers have a very dedicated creeper fanbase and tour locations are just the beginning of exposure for the girls. As the opening act, it’s kind of hard to ignore them. It will be quite a gamble with the American people though. If the girls succeed in overcoming the ever-present hatred towards them, the girls can count on a  good fanbase building up in America. Who cares if they happen to primarily little girls that can’t do anything without the permission of their parents? That’s where the moolah’s at. And because the Jonas Brothers are affiliated with Disney, perhaps they’ll have exposure on the Disney Channel and radio as well! And aren’t the Jonas Brothers signed under Hollywood Records? Maybe we’ll have a future collaboration between JYPE and Hwood records! Oh the possibilities!

However, there is also the possibility that this will be an epic fail, but no one really wants to think about that, right? Well, back on that hate site I posted up, who knows, we might have our first major international fanwar. But like I said, not many of those kids posting are even in high school. Let’s play nice and support the Wonder Girls on their American endeavours. Don’t forget to support both groups on a fantastic tour as well.

On a side note, the Wonder Girls are currently in Korea filming CFs and the MV for the English version of Nobody. They will also have a fanmeeting with some Freestyle video game players in Korea as well. And prior to returning to America, the girls will be making a quick pit stop in China. Let’s stay tuned!

4 responses to “Wonder Girls Getting Heat for Opening for the Jonas Brothers?

  1. I’m totally up for a fan war. I can take about 1000 of them on before I start to get tired. you guys will have to pick up the slack, lol. let’s put these middle schoolers in check!. figures Jonas brother fans would be ignorant. can’t expect much from kids who haven’t hit puberty or American fans in general. yea, I said it. with that said I’m going to slap around some jonas brother fans right now, ha ha ha.

  2. Is this Aki’s blog? I can’t remember, but I know I’ve seen that banner before.

    Anyway, I’m not a fan of the JoBros, but I do have to be honest and say that I like some of their songs. I like a lot of Disney songs actually.

    But like I mentioned at Spectacle!, I think the fans would be not really shocked, but kind of confused. The Wonder Girls are SMEXY! The JoBros, not so much. The Jonas Brothers fans are somewhat young teenagers if not little kids and when the Wonder Girls come out on stage dressing all sexy and whatnot, I think it might be a little awkward.

    Oh well. Wonder Girls fighting!

    And that video TOTALLY creeped me out.

  3. hohohoo with the video. @_@!
    im scared of tweeny boppers fan…
    wonder girls can make it. just no flirting please. 😛

  4. I think exposure is exposure it is certainly a good start for WG and JYP to at least get their names across to the teens. They still have a long way to go….I miss them.

Leave a Reply

