Every Shade of Blue – BIG BANG IS BACK!

I honestly can’t remember the last time I freaked out about a Kpop release, but leave it to Big Bang to get me all shaken up and leave me breathless. The biggest bang of YG Entertainment has just dropped their highly anticipated MV for one of their comeback singles “Blue.”

My relationship with Big Bang is a love-hate one, as many of the long-time readers of this site can attest. While I will always miss their earlier debut material, never openly admit to enjoying “Lies” and “Haru Haru“, detest their club-mix inspired tracks, and turn to mush when recent gems like “Love Song” pop up on my iPod, I could never say I’ll stop anticipating their next single. The boys, as we all know, have had quite a rough year. Daesung‘s issue regarding his car accident and G-Dragon‘s marijuana incident have been addressed recently, and it seems as though the boys are still in that process of recovery. Though, what doesn’t kill them obviously makes them stronger, and obviously raises the quality of their musical releases.

The members of Big Bang have come out with a teaser video explaining the meaning behind this mellow comeback track, stating it’s a song about emptiness and sorrow. The lyrics are well-crafted and personify that feeling of loneliness, and the difficult road one must walk as they heal from the pain of lost love. It’s rather beautiful and the lyrical flow of the song just meshes so well with the subtle guitar and piano instrumental accompaniment and light synth beats. Vocally, I was never a fan of T.O.P’s singing voice (no matter how drool-worthy his deep raspy tone is) and G-Dragon’s pitch-issues always rubbed me the wrong way. But I’m surprised to admit that the group’s two note-worthy rappers have improved since their “Love Song” days, and I’m glad to see that they’re making an obvious effort to expand their horizons from just the rapper’s perspective. Daesung, Taeyang, and Seungri didn’t fail to meet expectation with their respective vocal lines.

The PV’s color scheme is (surprise, surprise) a rather dull shade of blue, which is somewhat reminiscent of their “Lies” and “Haru Haru” PV days. It definitely fit the mood of the song, but visually-speaking, it was kind of a snooze-fest. The most eye-catching portion of the PV would probably be Taeyang and GD’s matching zebra-print jeans, T.O.P’s ridiculous blue hair, and Daesung’s attempt at bleach blond emo. Obviously I have a bone to pick with their stylist, but this is almost usually the case I have with YG artists.

The song is well-produced, and it kicks the shit out of the typical club beats these boys pop out. I was a huge fan of “Love Song,” and this song totally fits the same sort of trend. Big Bang tends to explore different genres of music, while incorporating the expected factors of club beats that make them, well them. Imagine the surprise on my face when I heard this song. Seriously, just picture my mouth agape one second, and then crying and squealing the next. Yeah, I’m pathetic.

However, since the boys seem to be promoting four title tracks for the promotion period, I would imagine that their other songs “Bad Boy,” “Love Dust,” “Fantastic Baby,” “Not Funny,” and “Wings.” That’s a hefty setlist, and I’m sure the remaining tracks will fit the typical getting-crunk-in-the-club vibe that these boys are known for. Personally, I don’t even care if it falls under that typical spectrum because I got my mellow fix with “Blue.” Needless to say, however, I am very excited to see the boys back in action. If anyone can take the stage and set it aflame with quality performances, it would be Big Bang. Hopefully they won’t disappoint, but have they ever?

Be sure to support the boys by purchasing their single off iTunes and pre-ordering their comeback album!

One response to “Every Shade of Blue – BIG BANG IS BACK!

  1. Pingback: Big Bang’s ALIVE | Not Another K-Blog!!!·

Leave a Reply

